Return to Headlines

Athletics award banquet honors top performers

Wayne Academy hosted its annual all sports banquet and awards celebration Monday, May 7 in Jaguar Gymnasium as the Jaguars marked significant milestones in every competitive sport and presented individual recognition to outstanding student-athletes.

Among the presentation were four of the Waynesboro private school's highest honors:

• Senior Harrison Daws earned the "Jaguar Award."

• Senior McKinley Allen was chosen as recipient of the "Cheston Jones Award."

• Senior Claire Gordon was given the "Amanda Harvison Award."

• Senior Cadin Humphrey was presented the "Fellowship of Christian Athletes Award."

The Jones and Harvison awards, named to honor the legacy of two former WA students, are given annually to outstanding seniors that stand out among their peers in terms of leadership, character and dedication to the classroom and their participation in sports and cheerleading, respectively. The Jaguar Award is presented to a student-athlete that has excelled in the classroom and in his or her chosen sports of choice.

The FCA accolade recognizes a student that has readily shown his or her faith and leadership in helping others find a relationship with Christ.

Also during the program, last year's track and field 4-by-200 state championship team for WA received their championship rings -- Molly Doss, Hayley Revette, Ashton Stanley and Cameron Walley. Also receiving recognition was Tera Britton, WA's track and field coach.

Individual award winners by sport included:

• Cross Country -- Chloe Thomas, top female runner; Duncan Mills, top male runner; and Ryan Sherman, Cross Country Award.

• Junior Varsity Softball -- Heidi Odom, Coach's Award; Josalynn Brown, pitching award; Macie Pickering, offensive award; Taylor Jordan, defensive award; and Abney Grace Pittman, most valuable player.

• Varsity Softball -- Alyssa West and Brady Hill, pitching award; CoCo Walley, attitude-family award; Kaylee Duvall, most improved player; Ashton Stanley, top defensive player; Jaylon Fleming and Hayley Revette, Coach's Award; Taylor Pittman and McKinley Allen, top offensive players. Allen was also named the team's most valuable player.

• Junior Varsity Cheerleading -- Brenleigh Bosarge, JV Cheer leadership award; Neena French, best all around; Julianna McRee, best spirit award; and Ella Kate Walley, most improved.

• Varsity Cheerleading -- Ashton Stanley and Laken Hancock, leadership award; Annah Leigh Varnell, team player award; Trinity Lofton, all-around cheer award; Hayley Revette, most determined; Makenzie Riley and Kaylee Davis, spirit award; Lexi Pitts, most dependable; Rebekah Clark, attitude award; McKinley Allen, squad favorite award; Ivana Bishop, most improved; and Kelsey Lassiter, mascot award.

• Junior Varsity Football -- Will Hodo, defensive most valuable player; Baylor Williams, offensive most valuable player; Kadin Johnston, most improved player; Lowery Skinner, junior high lineman award; and Cross Kittrell, junior high skills player award.

• Varsity Football -- Cole Harris, skills player award; Markus Kittrell, lineman award; Payne West, offensive most valuable player; Hunter Sanderson, defensive most valuable player; and Colton Coxwell, most improved player.

• Junior Varsity Girls Basketball -- Jaylon Fleming, offensive player award; Taylor Pittman, defensive player award; Heidi Odom, most improved player; and Julianna McRee, Hustle award.

• Varsity Girls Basketball -- Katie Butler, most improved player; Ashton Stanley, offensive player award; Hayley Revette, defensive player award; and Cameron Walley, Coach's award.

• Junior Varsity Boys Basketball -- Will Hodo, offensive player award; Kadin Johnston and Cross Kittrell, defensive players award; Lowery Skinner, rebounding award; Brock Brabham, Coach's award; and Daxton West, newcomer award. Hodo was also named team most valuable player.

• Varsity Boys Basketball -- Christian Schubert and Channin Cochran, Coach's awards; Jared Loper, most improved player; Payne West and Austin West, offensive awards; Cole Harris and Hunter Sanderson, defensive awards; Garett Pitts, most valuable player. Pitts, Schubert and Harrison Daws earned the team captains award.

• Junior Varsity Baseball -- Brayson Odom, Coach's award; Zander Pitts, most improved player; Baylor Williams, King of the Hill pitching award; Blaze Beasley, offensive award; Kadin Johnston, defensive award; and Brock Brabham, most valuable player.

• Varsity Baseball -- Will Hodo, Coach's award; Dawson Davis, most improved player; Jared Singleton, King of the Hill pitching award; Colton Coxwell, top outfielder award; Dane Deas, offensive player award; Cole Evans, defensive player award; Ethan Rhodes, most valuable player; and Sam Stokley, outstanding player award.

• Track and Field -- Junior Varsity Girls: Julianna McRee, running most valuable participant; Taylor Pittman, field most valuable participant; and McKynlee Welford, overall MVP. Junior Varsity Boys: Daxton West, running most valuable participant; Lowery Skinner, field most valuable participant; and Collin Trigg, overall MVP. Varsity Girls: Kaitlyn McRee, running most valuable participant; Ashton Stanley, field most valuable participant; McKinley Allen, overall MVP. Varsity Boys: Cross Kittrell, running most valuable participant; Cadin Humphrey, field most valuable participant; and Austin West, overall MVP.

• Golf -- Macon Carlisle, low medalist, Coach's and most improved awards; and Cole Harris, second low medalist.

Sean Dunlap